July / August 2012

cloud banner

Dear Friends,

I think I may be getting just a tad obsessed with the weather. This could be something to do with the fact that one of our daughters is getting married in August and the party afterwards is being held in the manse garden. We’ve worked our way through a long to-do list feeling very smug every time we manage to tick something off. There is now nothing much to do until the week before the wedding. However, there is one thing that we have no control over and that’s the weather. It may be great now, but the cold and wet is such a recent memory, and the forecast is not very reassuring! So we just have to ride the storm and weather the uncertainty and hope the Marquee doesn’t get blown away and the grass doesn’t turn to mud.

The wedding is the same week as camp and in the middle of the Olympics so we all have a vested interest in the weather being good that week. In the end though we don’t have any control over it so we have to plan for all eventualities. That’s a good idea in theory but I’ve never done anything like this before so I don’t know what it would be like in the rain in the garden. There’s always inside the house I suppose although it would be a bit of a squash.

I’ve had a few sleepless moments over this but have come to the conclusion that I have to stop worrying about what might happen and deal with whatever does happen. I suppose we all just want things to be ok and for everyone to have a great time. In the end that’s up to us isn’t it? To turn whatever happens into something good, it might not go the way we would like it too (sunny and about 75 degrees, preferably no rain for the week before – so that camp people don’t get wet either) but do you know, whatever happens it will be fine.

The trouble is I, and many others I suspect, really like to plan things and get very upset if they don’t work out the way I want them too. But we have to be adaptable because things can change in the twinkling of an eye.

At the last communion service we heard the story about Jesus stilling the storm. I can’t get the image of Jesus, sound asleep on his cushions at the back of the boat, out of my mind. There are the poor fishermen struggling with the oars trying to stay on track and he’s asleep. They got quite shirty with him in the end. ‘Don’t you care that we’re in trouble?’ they shouted to wake him up. The implication being that he should wake up and grab an oar to help the struggling disciples.

I have this picture of him waking up, stretching, looking about, rolling his eyes at the chaotic scene before him and then raising his hand and saying loudly, but not shouting, ‘Quiet – be still’. The thing is I’m not sure if he was talking to the storm or the disciples. The upshot was that the storm died down and the disciples where left looking a bit stupid. They had seriously underestimated him. If that was me I would be a bit scared at that point – ‘Where’s your faith?’ he asked.

Where is it indeed? Bearing that story in mind I’m going to try not to panic and run about like a headless chicken – I shall attempt to be quiet and to be still (internally – not literally because nothing would get done). I shall do my best to have faith.

I hope you have a lovely summer and find a bit of sunshine wherever you are.

God Bless,

Pam

cloud banner

This entry was posted in Church Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

